Clubs selected for Croke Park grants


The ten clubs who are to recieve 25k thousand euro from Croke Park were announced at last nights monthly meeting of the Clare county board.

The decison to award the money to Scariff, Feakle,Parteen Cratloe,Kilrush Tull, Cooraclare Miltown Malbay Sixmilebridge and Kilmihil ended a months long process that had seen the original committe stand down and be replaced by members of the G.aa Infrastrcuture and Safety Committee


Scariff, Feakle,Parteen Cratloe,Kilrush Tulla Cooraclare Miltown Malbay sixmilebruidge and Kilmihil are the clubs to directly benefit from the pening up of Croke Park to soccer and Rugby.

The announcement last evening ended the long running saga which had seen the replacement of the original 3 man committe by Peter Mc Kenna the Croke Park stadium director and Seamus Mc Cloy for the Derry county board.

It  was also  revealed by the  county secretary Pat FItzgerald  that the new committee consulted with the original three man body but did not inspect the 24 applicants who were hoping to receive the grant.

Clareacastle’s Bernard Hanrahan was hugely dispapointed his club were unsuccesful in theri application:

County board chairman Michale O Neill said he understood where the frustration came from but that the County Board would do all they could to help those unsuccessful: