Newmarket Celtic Reign Supreme in Inter Club Cup Final

Photo (c) Newmarket Celtic A

Banner Carpets and Flooring Clare Cup Final – Friday, 17th May 2019

Newmarket Celtic A 1-0 Newmarket Celtic B

Newmarket Celtic a completed the Clare Cup eight-in-a-row in Frank Healy Park as goals from captain Darren Cullinan, Eoin Hayes and man of the match Kieran Mahony gave them victory over Newmarket Celtic B.


This was a celebration of Newmarket football but both sides delivered a quality contest with tough tackles and commitment from the kick-off.

The As enjoyed the better chances before finally making the breakthrough on 23 minutes when Eoin Haye  and Tino Nzvaura combined to find Darren Cullinan coming in from the left and his low strike beat Kieran Eyres.

They came close to a second but the Bs finished the half strongly  and had strong claims for a penalty after Ronan McAuley’s shot seemed to be deflected by a hand ball but the As remained ahead at half-time.

The early pressure after the restart was applied by the Bs in Blue but a quick counter attack started by As keeper Shane Cusack on 54 minutes involved Kieran Mahony before Eoin Hayes finished for the Reds second goal.

And with just over 10 minutes remaining, Newmarket Celtic A won a penalty which Kieran Mahony converted to ensure it was 46 games unbeaten in their domestic cup competition.

Both sides emptied their benches in the closing stages but at the end, Newmarket Celtic A celebrated an 18th crown.  But supporters from both teams will enjoy reflecting on a successful season.

Scorers – Newmarket Celtic A – Darren Cullinan 23′, Eoin Hayes 54′, Kieran Mahony 79′

Newmarket Celtic A: Shane Cusack; Eoin O’Brien, Darren Cullinan, Stephen Kelly, Paddy Purcell, Cathal Hayes, Tino Nzvaura, David McCarthy, Eoin Hayes, Kieran Mahony, David Reidy.

Subs used: Colin Smyth for C Hayes (67 mins), David O’Grady for Cullinan (78 mins), Ian Collins for Paddy Purcell (79 mins), Daithi O’Connell for Eoin Hayes (79 mins), Seamie Lawlor for David Reidy (79 mins).

Newmarket Celtic B: Kieran Eyres; Jamie Cronin, Oisin Cavanagh, Eoin Kelly, Paudie Hayes, Martin ‘Monty’ Mulqueen, Ronan McAuley, Alan Kelly, Ciaran McCoy, Gavin O’Donnell, Ronan McCormack.

Subs used: Daniel Kotsulyak for O’Donnell (71 mins), Danny Conway for Mulqueen, Seamus Considine for McCoy (84 mins), Lee Cronin for Ronan McCormack (93 mins).