Lahinch Tournament Chairman Says Irish Open Will Attract Stars

Pic © Clare FM

The chairman of the organising committee for the Irish Open in Lahinch has insisted the event will be full of big names.

Graeme McDowell is the latest to confirm his participation joining Padraig Harrington, Louis Oosthuizen and Danny Willet among previous major winners in the field.

The 2010 US Open Champion is a previous winner at the Clare venue, winning the South of Ireland title in 2000.


John Gleeson told Clare FM’s Morning Focus says that more household stars will be announced in the coming weeks.


Meanwhile, Graeme McDowell’s bidding to secure a last-minute place at the Masters this week.

The final spot at the first major of the year will go to winner of this week’s Valero Texas Open.

Padraig Harrington and Seamus Power are also part of the field in San Antonio.