Priceless Munster Hurling Championship Victory For Clare

Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Sunday, 12th May 2019

Clare 1-20 Waterford 0-22

Clare stood up and withstood Waterford’s late onslaught in Walsh Park to pick up a priceless away victory in the Munster Hurling Championship.


Despite Waterford rallying with five late points, substitute Ryan Taylor scored the critical point that began their championship on a winning note.

After many pundits were writing off the Saffron and Blue, they made the perfect start with John Conlon’s goal in the opening minute while Peter Duggan and Tony Kelly made it 1-2 to 0-1 on five minutes.

Peter Duggan and Tony Kelly shared 13 scores throughout the match and Clare led 1-13 to 0-10 at half-time with Podge Collins, Shane Golden, Shane O’Donnell and John Conlon also on target.

The Banner maintained that advantage before scores from Stephen Bennett and Austin Gleeson reduced Waterford’s deficit to 1-15 to 0-15.

However, four points midway during the half from Peter Duggan, Aidan McCarthy and a Tony Kelly brace gave Clare a crucial 1-19 to 0-17 lead with five minutes left.

Stephen Bennett, Maurice Shanahan, Austin Gleeson and Tommy Ryan led the Waterford charge but Ryan Taylor got the all important point and Clare can look forward to Tipperary’s visit to Cusack Park in three weeks.

Scorers – Clare: Peter Duggan 0-8, John Conlon 1-1, Tony Kelly 0-5, Podge Collins 0-1, Shane Golden 0-1, Shane O’Donnell 0-1, Colm Galvin 0-1, Aidan McCarthy 0-1, Ryan Taylor 0-1.

Scorers – Waterford: Stephen Bennett 0-10, Austin Gleeson 0-4, Jamie Barron 0-2, Conor Gleeson 0-1, Shane Bennett 0-1, Mikey Kearney 0-1, Tommy Ryan 0-2, Maurice Shanahan 0-1.

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Patrick O’Connor, David McInerney, Jack Browne; Seadna Morey, Colm Galvin, David Fitzgerald; Shane Golden, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Diarmuid Ryan; Shane O’Donnell, John Conlon, Podge Collins.