Clare Minor Hurlers Deliver The Winning Start

Photo ©: Clare FM

Munster Minor Hurling Championship – Sunday, 12th May 2019

Clare 0-17 Waterford 0-15

Clare’s minor hurlers showed great composure and work ethic in Walsh Park to clinch a two-point victory in their Munster championship fixture.


After weathering Waterford pressure in the first and third quarters down in the Sunny South East, Fergal Lynch’s team came strong to take the win despite 12 wides.

The Deise were on the ball early taking a 0-5 to 0-3 lead on 11 minutes though Reuben Halloran was off target with a penalty.  But points for Conner Hegarty and Diarmuid Cahill had Clare on level terms by the quarter hour.

After Aaron Ryan put the hosts ahead, two Keith Smyth frees and a Tony Butler point gave Clare an 0-8 to 0-6 advantage and they stayed in front through Conner Hegarty and Shane Meehan to lead 0-10 to 0-9 at half-time.

Again, Waterford were out of the blocks quickest with three second half scores while Mark Fitzgerald caught the Clare defence napping and should have punished with a goal only for the alertness of Aaron Shanahan.

Oisin O’Donnell, Keith Smyth and Diarmaid Cahill got Clare back on track before two more for Conner Hegarty and Dylan Downes made it 0-16 to 0-13 with four minutes remaining.

Waterford closed the gap but Clare held on as Keith Smyth converted the winning free.

Scorers – Clare: Keith Smyth 0-5, Conner Hegarty 0-4, Diarmaid Cahill 0-3, Cian Galvin 0-1, Tony Butler 0-1, Shane Meehan 0-1, Oisin O’Donnell 0-1, Dylan Downes 0-1.

Scorers – Waterford: Aaron Ryan 0-9, Reuben Halloran 0-2, Johnny Burke 0-2, Michael Cummins 0-1, Jamie Gleeson 0-1.

Clare: Aaron Shanahan; Storm Devanney, Adam Hogan, Cillian McGroary; Jarlath Collins, Colm O’Meara, Tony Butler; Oisin Clune, Killian O’Connor; Shane Meehan, Cian Galvin, Oisin O’Donnell; Conner Hegarty, Diarmaid Cahill, Keith Smyth.