Kildysart’s Under 21s End 21 Year Wait For Championship Silverware

Pic © Clare FM

Kildysart are the County under 21B football champions for the first time in 21 years.

Two Conor Hassett penalties and an Emmet McMahon goal gave Jacko Cleary’s side their first title since 1998 in Cusack Park today.

In a repeat of last year’s final, Kildysart used the wind to their advantage to build a 1-9 to 0-2 interval lead with Hassett’s first penalty arriving on 10 minutes.


Diarmuid O’Donnell also kicked six points but Wolfe Tones got back in contention after the restart.

Liam Murphy’s goal on 38 minutes started a comeback as they got back within four points.

But 2-2 unanswered in the final 11 minutes secured Kildysart championship silverware following their recent defeats in the Garry Cup and intermediate finals.