Clare Are Into Round Four Of Football Qualifiers

Photo (c) Munster GAA

All-Ireland Senior Football Qualifier Round 3 – Saturday, 29th June 2019

Clare 1-13 Westmeath 0-15

Clare are into the fourth round of the All-Ireland football qualifiers after a dramatic victory in TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar.


David Tubridy’s goal on 46 minutes proved the crucial score as the Banner edged out a determined Lake County to book a meeting with Cavan, Cork, Galway or Meath next week.

Clare started brightest racing into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead inside eight minutes as Jamie Malone converted a hat-trick and Cathal O’Connor also got on the scoreboard.

Westmeath’s chances suffered two major blows with John Heslin getting a black card and Ger Egan going off injured.

But they took control midway during the period as Kieran Martin, Ronan O’Toole and Tommy McDaniel (2) gave the hosts the advantage.

This was expected to be tight and didn’t disappoint. The teams were level six times before referee Martin McNally blew for half-time at 0-8 apiece – Cathal O’Connor, Gavin Cooney, Eoin Cleary and Gary Brennan adding to Clare’s tally.

Gary Brennan got his second after the restart before Callum McCormack equalised. But in the space of 60 seconds, Colm Collins’ side were four clear.

Eoin Cleary converted a free before Clare punished a poor Westmeath short kick out and David Tubridy was on hand to get the game’s defining goal.

The second half wasn’t without its setbacks as Conal O hAinifein went off injured while Clare also had two black cards for Cathal O’Connor and Cillian Brennan.

But everytime, Westmeath reduced arrears, the Banner found a response. David Tubridy (2) and Eoin Cleary kept Clare 1-13 to 0-13 ahead entering injury time.

Tom Molloy and a Noel Mulligan ’45 brought the deficit back to the minimum but Clare held on as Gary Brennan fielded a crucial late ball.

They are in the hat for Monday’s draw – one game away for a possible appearance in the All-Ireland Super 8s.

Scorers – Clare: David Tubridy 1-2, Jamie Malone 0-3, Eoin Cleary 0-3, Cathal O’Connor 0-2, Gary Brennan 0-2, Gavin Cooney 0-1.

Scorers – Westmeath: Kieran Martin 0-6, Tommy McDaniel 0-3, Callum McCormack 0-2, Ger Egan 0-1, Ronan O’Toole 0-1, Tom Molloy 0-1, Noel Mulligan 0-1.

Clare: Stephen Ryan; Dean Ryan, Cillian Brennan, Gordon Kelly; Conal O hAinifein, Aaron Fitzgerald, Sean Collins; Gary Brennan, Cathal O’Connor; Sean O’Donoghue, Eoin Cleary, Jamie Malone; Gavin Cooney, David Tubridy, Cian O’Dea.