Clare Footballers Storm Past Leitrim In Qualifiers

All-Ireland Senior Football Qualifiers Round 2 – Saturday, 22nd June 2019

Clare 3-17 Leitrim 0-17

Clare delivered a tour de force performance in Carrick-on-Shannon to book their place in the final 16 of the All-Ireland championship.


Goals from Jamie Malone, Gary Brennan and Eimhin Courtney insured Colm Collins’ team will be in the hat for Monday morning’s Round Three draw.

From the start, Clare built a 0-3 to 0-0 advantage through Jamie Malone, Eoin Cleary and Gary Brennan before Leitrim got off the mark thanks to Domhnaill Flynn and Dean McGovern by the 12th minute.

But in the next nine minutes, the Banner hit 2-5 unanswered as after Eoin Cleary converted a point, Conal Ó hAiniféin made the ground that led to Jamie Malone getting the first goal.

Gary Brennan and David Tubridy (3) troubled the umpires before Brennan’s efforts were rewarded on 21 minutes with the second goal and Clare were 2-8 to 0-2 clear.

The teams shared the last eight white flags before the break with Eoin Cleary (3) and David Tubridy contributing for Clare leaving it 2-12 to 0-6 at the interval.

Leitrim were more competitive in the second period through Evan Sweeney and Shane Moran reducing arrears to 2-14 to 0-9 but 1-1 unanswered for Clare put the contest to bed.

Eimhin Courtney struck a 54th minute goal before David Tubridy made it 3-15 to 0-9.

Qualification was secured and the home side enjoyed their best spell with six points-in-a-row and they would keep that nine-point margin to the finish.

Gary Brennan and Eoin Cleary concluded Clare’s account and they will be in action again next weekend.

Scorers – Clare: Eoin Cleary 0-7, Gary Brennan 1-3, Jamie Malone 1-2, David Tubridy 0-5, Eimhin Courtney 1-0.

Clare: Stephen Ryan; Dean Ryan, Cillian Brennan, Gordon Kelly; Conal Ó hAiniféin, Aaron Fitzgerald, Sean Collins; Gary Brennan, Cathal O’Connor; Sean O’Donoghue, Eoin Cleary, Jamie Malone; Gavin Cooney, David Tubridy, Cian O’Dea.