Clare Footballers Narrowly Lose Out To Waterford Under 20s

Munster under 20 Football Quarter-Final – Tuesday, 2nd July 2019 

Waterford 1-10 Clare 1-9 

Clare were denied by a determined Waterford outfit in Fraher Field this evening.   


The big talking point was a clear penalty not given to the returning Dermot Coughlan on 46 minutes that would have put the Banner three points clear.   

It would be unfair to say Waterford weren’t deserving winners as they were also guilty of missed goal chances. 

Clare made the perfect start with a goal after 18 seconds from Cillian Rouine but a black card for Jayme O’Sullivan was an early blow.   

Seamus Clancy’s team were 1-2 to 0-2 ahead but Darragh Corcoran’s superb major for the Deise on 12 minutes changed the tie. 

The teams were all square at half-time – 1-6 apiece before sharing parity three more times.  However, after Darragh Corcoran and Tom Barron put Waterford in front entering injury time, Clare couldn’t manager an equaliser with Diarmuid O’Donnell’s late effort going wide. 

Scorers – Clare: Diarmuid O’Donnell 0-5, Cillian Rouine 1-0, Seamus Casey 0-2, Dermot Coughlan 0-2. 

Scorers – Waterford: Darragh Corcoran 1-7, Tom Barron 0-1, Billy Power 0-1, Darragh O’Keeffe 0-1. 

Clare: Ronan Callinan; Dara Conneely, Jayme O’Sullivan, Iken Uguara; Tiernan Hogan, Sean Rouine, Colm McNeilis; Danny Griffin, Dan Keating; Cian McDonough, Cillian Rouine, Sean O’Brien; Colm O’Brien, Diarmuid O’Donnell, Seamus Casey.