Feakle-Killanena Hold Off Strong Finish From Inagh-Kilnamona To Claim Clare U21 Hurling Honours

Pic (c) Clare FM

Clare U21 A Hurling Final: Feakle-Killanena 1-13 Inagh-Kilnamona 0-14

Feakle-Killanena are the Clare U21 hurling champions for the second time.

The East Clare side held off a strong finish from Inagh-Kilnamona to edge a quality final showdown at Dr Daly Park in Tulla.


The sides were level three times inside the opening ten minutes, but a powerful second quarter from Feakle-Killanena saw them open up a 1-9 to 0-7 lead at the break, thanks in part to a brilliant goal from Ian McNamara.

Inagh-Kilnamona battled back in the third quarter of the contest, with Fred and James Hegarty playing key roles as they reduced the deficit to the minimum with the game entering injury time.

Keith Smyth finished with 0-8 to his name, and the most crucial of them all was the final score of the game as he gave his side a two point lead and the trophy for the second time.