Ennistymon Retain U-21A Football Crown Following Penalty Shoot-Out Drama

U-21A Football Final: Ennistymon: 0-13  V St. Breckans: 2-07 (3-2 On Penalties)

Ennistymon have retained their U-21A Football Championship in dramatic circumstances at Shanahan McNamara Memorial Park, Doonbeg.

The reigning champions got off to a flying start in the opening period with Diarmuid Fahy, Josh Guyler, Eanna Rouine, Shane Woods and Paudie Considine all splitting the posts.


For the challengers, a Shane Fitzpatrick goal and Denis O’Callaghan point within fifteen minutes was all St.Breckan’s could muster, playing against a strong wind in the opening period as they trailed by 0-09 to 1-01 at the interval.

The second half would be the story of the Lisdoonvarna,Kilshanny and Doolin combined forces though who very nearly won the day with Oisín O’Loughlin raiding for 1-01 off the bench.

Ciaran McMahon showed nerves of steel however to split the posts for Ennistymon in the 63rd minute, to send the contest to extra-time.

Once again there was little to separate the near neighbours in the additional installment with points apiece from Eanna Rouine for Ennistymon and Oisín O’Loughlin for St.Breckan’s leaving the teams deadlocked at 2-07 to 0-13.

For the first time ever as a result, a penalty shoot-out was required to decide the fate of the U-21A county championship and both netminders would step up to the plate.

Oisín O’Loughlin manned the posts for St.Breckan’s and despite producing two spectacular saves, Conor Gallagher was the hero of the day for Ennistymon, saving three and ensuring an historic day for the parish.

As it finished in Shanahan McNamara Park (After Extra-Time and Penalties), Ennistymon 3-13 – St.Breckan’s 4-07.

Clare FM’s Derrick Lynch spoke to Ennistymon’s Ciarán McMahon after the final whistle.

You can listen to the full interview below.