County Football Final Repeat The Highlight As First-Round Championship Draws Are Made

The draws have been made for the opening rounds of the Clare Senior, Intermediate, and Junior Hurling and Football Championships.

Sixmilebridge will begin the defence of the Canon Hamiltwon with a clash against Éire Óg while in football, the standout tie of Round One is a repeat of last year’s final between champions St. Joseph’s, Mitown Malbay and Kilmurry Ibrickane.

Nine months after their county final clash went to a replay, St. Joseph’s Miltown Malbay and Kilmurry-Ibrickane will start their 2020 campaigns with what’s sure to be a keenly fought local derby.


Of last year’s beaten semi-finalists, Cratloe will play Lissycasey and Doonbeg will take on Ennistymon. In the other games, Cooraclare will go up against Intermediate Champions St. Breckan’s, Clondegad will meet Kilmihil and Kilrush Shamrocks face Éire Óg.

In the intermediate Football Championship, Corofin – relegated from Senior last year – take on Kildysart. Liscannor play Shannon Gaels, Wolfe Tones go up against Michael Cusack’s, Kilfenora face Éire Óg, O’Currys meet Coolmeen and Naomh Eoin play St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield.

To hurling then and Sixmilebridge will face Éire Óg in the first round as they begin the defence of their title.

Last year’s beaten finalists Cratloe go up against Kilmaley, Crusheen meet 2018 champions Ballyea and Inagh-Kilnamona meet 2017 finalists Clooney-Quin.

In the other games, Clonlara play Newmarket on Fergus, Clarecastle face Wolfe Tones, and there are two East Clare derbies with Whitegate playing Feakle and O’Callaghan’s Mills going up against last year’s Intermediate winners, Broadford

The teams looking to follow in their footsteps will start their campaigns as follows:

Newmarket On Fergus play Corofin, Ruan go up against Clonlara, Bodyke face Killanena, Smith O’Briens face St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield, Tulla play Scariff, Tubber play Cratloe, Inagh-Kilnamona go up against Sixmilebridge and Clarecastle meet Parteen.

Having looked like it was in doubt for so long, the first Championship action is now just over three weeks away.


Clare Senior Hurling Championship Draw
O’Callaghan’s Mills v Broadford
Clonlara v Newmarket On Fergus
Crusheen v Ballyea
Éire Óg Ennis v Sixmilebridge
Whitegate v Feakle
Kilmaley v Cratloe
Inagh Kilnamona v Clooney Quin
Clarecastle v Wolfe Tones

Clare Senior Football Championship
Ennistymon v Doonbeg
St.Joseph’s Miltown v Kilmurry Ibrickane
Kilrush Shamrocks v Éire Óg Ennis
Lissycasey v Cratloe
Cooraclare v St.Brecken’s
Clondegad v Kilmihil

Clare Intermediate Football Championship
Liscannor v Shannon Gaels
Wolfe Tones v Michael Cusack’s
Kilfenora v Éire Óg Ennis
O’Currys v Coolmeen
Naomh Eoin v St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield
Kildysart v Corofin
Clare Intermediate Hurling Championship
Newmarket On Fergus v Corofin
Ruan v Clonlara
Bodyke v Killanena
Smith O’Brien’s v St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield
Tulla v Scariff
Tubber v Cratloe
Inagh Kilnamona v Sixmilebridge
Clarecastle v Parteen
Clare Junior A Football Championship
Lissycasey BYE into Q/F
Round One Draw
Clooney Quin v Doonbeg
Cooraclare v Kilmurry Ibrickane
St.Senan’s Kilkee v The Banner
Ennistymon v St.Joseph’s Miltown
St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield v Ballyvaughan
Clondegad v Cratloe
Meelick v Killimer

Clare Junior A Hurling Championship Draw
First Round
Éire Óg Ennis v Ennistymon
St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield v Broadford
Inagh Kilnamona v Ballyea
Wolfe Tones v Crusheen
Ogonnelloe v O’Callaghan’s Mills
Clooney Quin v Kilmaley

Clare Junior B Football Championship Draw
Prelim Round
POT A Moy v Kilrush Shamrocks
POT B Kilmihil v Parteen

First Round Proper
Eire Óg Ennis v St.Brecken’s
The Banner v POT B
Corofin v POT A
Shannon Gaels v Wolfe Tones

Clare Junior B Hurling Championship Draw
Preliminary Round
POT A – Sixmilebridge v Ruan
POT B – The Banner v Kilmaley
POT C – O’Callaghan’s Mills v Clonlara
POT D – Scariff v Eire Og Ennis

First Round Proper
POT B v Tubber
Clooney Quin v Meelick
POT D v Corofin
Tulla v POT A
Whitegate v POT C
Parteen v Feakle
Newmarket On Fergus v Wolfe Tones
Smith O’Brien’s v Cratloe

Clare Junior C Hurling Championship Draw Q/F
Kilkee Bealaha v Clonbonny
Bodyke v Killanena
Tulla v The Banner
St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield v Broadford