Clare Crowned All Ireland LGFA Minor C Champions

Clare LGFA Minor Squad. Pic by Burren Eye Photography

Clare have been crowned All Ireland LGFA Minor C champions.

A late Abby Downes point saw David O’Brien’s side overcome Wicklow by 3-13 to 3-12 in a dramatic contest.

The sides were level at 1-8 each at the break, with Downes grabbing an early goal for Clare to see them in the ascendancy after the opening quarter.


Wicklow powered into the contest and struck 2-2 without reply either side of half time to move into the lead, but a second goal from Downes kept Clare in touch.

The Leinster side kept the scoreboard ticking over to lead by five points inside the closing quarter, but Edel McNamara’s well taken goal left Clare trailing by just the minimum with ten minutes left to play.

Clare kicked the next three scores without reply to move two clear, but Wicklow levelled matters again with two frees in quick succession.

Extra time looked the most likely outcome, but Downes had the final say with a brilliant finish on the turn to give Clare the title.

Scorers – Clare: A Downes 2-6 (2f), E McNamara 1-4, G Burke 0-2, E Clune 0-1.

Wicklow: S Fisher 0-8 (5f), A Harmon 1-3, PR Cullen Dunne 1-0, C Nagle 1-0, E O’Sullivan 0-1.

Clare: K McMahon; K Callaghan, C Cahill, S Blood; E Hynes, H Doyle, A Malice; J Doohan, E Clune; A Downes, E McNamara, S Daly; L Conway, G Burke, K Fitzgerald.

Subs: J Murphy for McMahon (35), C O’Connor for Burke (36), E Twomey for Daly (57).

Wicklow: H Wright; Z Fennell, O Ní Ghallchobhair, A Carroll; LJ Shannon, ER O’Toole, C O’Brien; L Bourke, E O’Sullivan; A Harmon, G Murphy, S Adams; PR Cullen Dunne, S Fisher, A Magee.

Subs: C Nagle for Magee (42), LA O’Reilly for Cullen Dunne (48), E Cullen for O’Brien (48), M Sweeney for Harmon (58), G Flynn for Fisher (58).

Referee: Paul Burke (Louth).