Banner’s Munster Journey Comes To An End

Cusack Park. Pic (c) Clare FM

Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Semi-Final: The Banner 0-15 V Feenagh-Kilmeady (Limerick) 0-19 

The Banner have falled at the semi-final hurdle of the Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship for the second year in succession.

The Lahinch Road outfit faced stern opposition from Limerick Champion’s Feenagh-Kilmeady in Cusack Park.


The men from Ennis started the brightest however with Shane Meehan splitting the posts after just four seconds.

Meehan would go on to add three more before the interval while Fiachra Hayes, Thomas Meenaghan, Harty Cup winner, Niall Walsh and Diarmuid Toner would also find their range.

Corner-back James Coakley and wing-forward Seán MacMahon meanwhile where constantly in possession and were pivotal in setting up the attack, while netminder Darren Meehan proved to be alert on a number of occasions in the Banner Goal.

The Limerick men were led by their own talisman and free-taker Diarmuid Coleman who himself notched 0-05 in the opening period.

At half-time the sides departed level at 0-10 apiece.

A slight shoulder injury to county star Shane Meehan proved to be a setback for The Banner in the second half and although Niall Walsh would take over the free taking duties with aplomb, the Treaty side ultimately had the legs.

As it finished in Cusack Park on a full-time score of Feenagh-Kilmeady on 0-19 to The Banner 0-15.