Clare TD’s Among Those Trying To Form A Government

Clare’s newly elected TDs will be among those trying to form a government.

All seats have now been filled in the 33rd Dail, with Fianna Fail the largest party on 38 seats, Sinn Fein on 37 and Fine Gael on 35.

There will be 12 Green TDs, Labour and Social Democrats will have 6 seats, while Solidarity People Before Profit have secured 5.


Aontu returns with 1 seat while there will be 20 Independents.

Meelick Fianna Fáil’s Cathal Crowe will be Dublin bound, as will Kilrush resident Violet Anne Wynne who swept in on that national surge for Sinn Féin.

ClarecastleFine Gael’s Joe Carey keeps his seat while former Labour TD Michael McNamara, from Scariff returns to Leinster House as an Independent.

Two outgoing Clare TDs, Fine Gael’s Pat Breen and Fianna Fail’s Timmy Dooley were unsuccessful in their efforts to be re-elected.

Dooley lost the only Fianna Fail seat here to his newly elected colleague Cathal Crowe, who says he’ll be repaying the faith Clare’s voters have put in him:

Sinn Fein were the talking point of General Election 2020 – their Clare TD is the first elected here in over a hundred years.

Kilrush’s Violet-Anne Wynne says her priorities will be housing and healthcare:

Scariff’s Michael McNamara lost out last time out but has won back the support of Clare voters as an Independent.

He says he can play a part in the next government and will not be closing any doors:

Clarecastle Fine Gael TD Joe Carey survived a bad day for the outgoing government party.

He says they’ll have to take stock of what went wrong: