Council Identifies 51 Villages Not Fully Covered By Public Sewerage System

Clare County Council has identified 51 villages in the county which are not fully covered by a public sewerage system.

The Council has published a list of 26 areas which have little, or nothing at all, in the way of public sewerage systems – this includes Barefield, Cratloe and Doolin.

For 25 more areas, including Ardnacrusha, Broadford, Labasheeda, Lissycasey and Cooraclare, only some homes are connected to a public supply.


East Clare Fine Gael Councillor Joe Cooney says this lack of proper infrastructure is stifling development.