Clare Students Claim Awards At BT Young Scientist Exhibition

BT brand identity Enquiries about this image can be made to the BT Group Newsroom on its 24-hour number: 020 7356 5369. From outside the UK, dial +44 20 7356 5369. News releases and images can be accessed at the BT web site:

Three Clare students have been honoured for their potentially life-saving project at the BT Young Scientist Exhibition.

Abby Hehir, Rebecca Murphy and Ryely Cantrell of St. John Bosco Community College in Kildysart had developed a device that detected and sent out text alerts when someone fell into slurry pits on farms.

They were announced as winners of one of the Special Category prizes at the RDS last night.


Category Awards winners included Cliona O’Keeffe of Colaise Mhuire in Ennis, Sarah McNamara of Mary Immaculate Secondary School in Lisdoonvarna.

Other Awards also went to Colaiste Mhuire students Aoibhinn Leyden, Jennifer Weston, Zoe Ellingstad and Lauren Cahill; to Alice Davoren, Emily Cullinan and Dylan Egan from Lisdoonvarna; and to Stephnie Connor, Jack Fairfield and Eoin Gilmartin from St. Anne’s COmmunity COllege in Killaloe.