Meet Clare’s 2019 Local Election Candidates

Across 5 Electoral Areas, a total of 51 candidates are vying for 28 seats on Clare County Council.

Ahead of polling day on May 24, Gavin Grace put the hopefuls through their paces in a series of special Morning Focus debates.

Hear what they had to say on topics from housing and health to farming, tourism, illegal dumping and more.


The Ennis Electoral Area

The first of our Ennis debates on Morning Focus heard from Seamus Ryan, Labour; Donna McGettigan, Sinn Féin; Cllr Ann Norton, Independent; Mark Nestor, Fianna Fáil and Cllr Johnny Flynn, Fine Gael. Listen to their views on issues such as health, business and housing:

Five more candidates from the Ennis Electoral Area joined us in studio to make their case. Pat Daly (FF), Dermot Hayes (IND), Alfonso D’Auria (IND), Frank Cullinan (IND), and Paul Murphy (FG) all joined Gavin in studio to talk about issues in Ennis including housing, tourism and health.

The third and final debate for Ennis hopefuls in the Local Elections 2019 heard from André Hakizimana (IND), Cllr Clare Colleran-Molloy (FF), Amanda Major (IND), Mary Howard (FG) and Chris Kirwan (SD) discussing issues such as the housing crisis, employment and littering in Ennis.

The Ennistymon Electoral Area

Gavin’s joined by candidates in the four-seat Ennistymon Electoral Area: Cllr Bill Slattery (FG); Joe Garrihy (FG); Noeleen Moran (SF); Martin O’Loghlen (FF); Joe Killeen (FF); Shane Talty (FF) and Roisín Garvey (GRN) ahead of the 2019 Local Elections on May 24.

The Killaloe Electoral Area

Gavin’s joined by Barry O’Donovan (GRN); Cllr Joe Cooney (FG); Cllr Alan O’Callaghan (FF); Joe Floyd (IND) and Cllr Tony O’Brien (FF) for the first of two debates ahead of the local elections to the Killaloe area of Clare County Council.

Ahead of the polling day in the Local Elections (May 24), Gavin hears from more Killaloe Area candidates Cllr Pat Burke (FG), Beckha Doyle (SD), Seán Naughton (SF), Ger O’Halloran (FG) and Cllr Pat Hayes (FF).

The Kilrush Electoral Area

For the first of two debates between candidates for the Kilrush Electoral Area, Gavin’s joined by Cllr Ian Lynch (IND), Cllr PJ Kelly (FF), Violet Anne Wynne (SF) and Cllr Gabriel Keating (FG).

Friday, May 24 will see voters in the Kilrush Electoral Area to choose 5 local councillors to represent them. Ahead of polling day, Morning Focus hears from Cillian Murphy (FF). Mike Taylor (FG), Noreen Lynch (IND), Cllr Bill Chambers (FF) and Joseph Woulfe (IND).

The Shannon Electoral Area

The 2019 Local Elections in Clare will see seven candidates elected to the Shannon Electoral Area.
For the first of two Morning Focus debates featuring candidates for the Shannon Electoral Area, Gavin’s joined by Cllr Pat McMahon (FF), Garrett McPhilips (FG), Eugene Long (FG) and Cllr Gerry Flynn (IND).

Ahead of polling day on Friday, May 24, Gavin hears from Cllr John Crowe (FG), Cllr PJ Ryan (IND), Betty Walsh (SD), Cllr Michael Begley (IND) and Cllr Cathal Crowe (FF).