Clare Crowned Munster LGFA Senior B Champions

Clare LGFA side warming up in Mallow ahead of the Munster LGFA Senior B final against Limerick. Pic (c) Clare FM

Munster LGFA Senior B Final: Clare 0-13 Limerick 1-6

Clare have been crowned 2023 Munster Senior B LGFA champions.

Wayne Freeman’s side saw off a stern challenge from Limerick to pick up the title in Mallow, with former captain Laurie Ryan making her first appearance of the season.


The introduction of Lizzy Roche at half-time had a telling influence on the game, with the Burren Gaels woman making a real difference up front in the second period.

Clare led at the break by 0-5 to 0-4, with all their scores coming from the boot of Fidelma Marrinan.

Limerick kicked three scores in a row to open up a 0-4 to 0-2 lead after 10 minutes, but the last three points of the opening period came the way of Wayne Freeman’s side to see them ahead at half-time.

That lead was short-lived as Limerick struck for 1-1 without reply to lead by 1-5 to 0-5 inside the opening two minutes of the new half.

A brace of frees from Chloe Moloney and a fine effort from Aisling Reidy saw the sides level for the fourth time in the contest by the 40th minute.

Lizzy Roche edged Clare back in front with a tidy score on the turn to see her side lead by 0-9 to 1-5, and she turned provider for Marrinan to add to her tally to give Clare a two point cushion at the turn of the final quarter.

Limerick had chances to rally in the closing stages, but Clare held firm to head for the All Ireland championship as Munster Senior B winners.

Marrinan was top scorer for Clare with 0-7 to her name, with the pick of the bunch being her last, as she produced an exquisite overhead finish with her back to goal.

Clare: Amy Lenihan; Aine Keane, Siofra ni Chonaill, Grainne Harvey; Laurie Ryan, Caoimhe Harvey (c), Louise Griffin; Cliodhna Blake, Aisling Reidy; Sinead Considine, Chloe Moloney, Amy Sexton; Laura Griffey, Ciara McCarthy, Fidlema Marrinan.

Subs used: Lizzy Roche, Caoimhe Cahill, Caoilinn McCormack, Lauren Conway, Lauren Griffin