Waterford Blow Clare Away in the National League

National Hurling League Quarter-Final – Saturday, 16th March 2019

Waterford 0-31 Clare 1-14

Clare failed to make use of the strong wind in the Sunny South East as Waterford blitzed past them into the National Hurling League semi-finals.


After the teams were level four times in the opening 10 minutes, the Banner seemed to get a foothold on the contest with 1-2 unanswered including Peter Duggan’s 16th minute penalty.

With Tony Kelly and Cathal Malone contributing two points each, Clare led 1-7 to 0-5 entering the second quarter.

But five Stephen Bennett frees (his first on 20 minutes) was a sign of things to come as the Deise crept back into the contest trailing by just 1-10 to 0-11 at half-time.

Gary Cooney was denied a second Clare goal before the break but they weren’t ready for what greeted them at the change of ends.

Waterford outscored Clare 0-9 to 0-1 in the first 15 minutes making it 0-20 to 1-11 and still had time for another 11 white flags.

Stephen Bennett finished the game with 16 points, 14 from frees, as Clare’s achielles heel returned to cost them. The Banner only managed one second half score from play as Pauric Fanning’s charges refused to relent.

The spring campaign is over and the Clare’s next competitive outing is back in Walsh Park on May 12th in the Munster Hurling Championship. They got a run out at the venue but also saw the hurdle that awaits them again in eight weeks.

Scorers – Clare: Tony Kelly 0-3, Peter Duggan 1-7 (1-0 penalty, six frees, one sideline), Cathal Malone 0-2, Aron Shanagher 0-1, Aidan McCarthy 0-1.

Scorers – Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-5, Austin Gleeson 0-5, Colm Roche 0-1, Stephen Bennett 0-16 (14 frees), Shane Bennett 0-1 (sideline), Peter Hogan 0-2, Shane McNulty 0-1.

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Seadna Morey, David McInerney, Jack Browne; Patrick O’Connor, Conor Cleary, Cathal Malone; Shane Golden, Colm Galvin; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Aidan McCarthy; Gary Cooney, Aron Shanagher, Podge Collins.

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Shane McNulty, Philip Mahony, Noel Connors; Callum Lyons, Kevin Moran, Austin Gleeson; Jamie Barron, Colm Roche; Jack Prendergast, Mikey Kearney, Pauric Mahony; Tommy Ryan, Stephen Bennett, Shane Bennett.

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)