No Joy For Clare In 2018 Munster Hurling League Final

Clare have been beaten by Limerick in the 2018 Munster Hurling League Final.

A strong closing quarter from the Shannonsiders saw them win by 0-16 to 0-10

Limerick led by 0-3 to 0-2 after the opening 10 minutes with Cathal Malone and Podge Collins registering Clare’s scores.


A free from Cathal O’Connell saw the sides level for the first time after 13 minutes but Limerick responded immediately to move back in front.

Malone slotted his second point of the game to tie things up once more before a brace of scores for the Shannonsiders handed them back the advantage by 0-6 to 0-4 after 20 minutes.

Tots again was on target with his second score to cut the gap before Malone struck again to make it 0-6 each.

It was the home side that had the final say of the opening period, hitting two more unanswered points to lead 0-8 to 0-6 at the break.

Three in a row for the Banner after the break from Cathal Malone, Niall Deasy and Tony Kelly gave them the lead but again the Limerick response was swift with six unanswered points handing them the lead by 0-14 to 0-9 with 9 minutes left to play.

Clare were then reduced to 14 men when Jack Browne was given his marching orders for a second yellow card.

Limerick continued to dominate the scoreboard and added another brace to lead by 0-16 to 0-9 as the game moved toward injury time.

Clare did end the scoring on the day through a David Reidy free but it was the Shannonsiders who took home the silverware.

Next up for the Banner is the National Hurling League opener against Tipperary on Sunday January 28th in Cusack Park.