Clonmel’s Roy White Wins Clare Stages Rally

Tipperary’s Roy White has won the 2019 Dougie Hughes Memorial Clare Stages Rally.

Partnered by Cork’s James O’Brien in a Ford Fiesta WRC, they finished the last stage in 7 minutes 42.3 seconds, to finish with an overall time of 1 hour 7 minutes 21.8 seconds.

They finished 15 seconds ahead of Cork duo Daniel Cronin and JJ Cremin.


While Kildare’s Ian Barrett and Donegal’s Paul McGee ended up in third despite a promising start where they led in the early stages. They were 53.2 seconds behind.

Best for Clare are Alan O’Callaghan and Declan O’Regan who finished in 13th place, 6 minutes 42.4 seconds in arrears.

Padraig Egan and Brian Hassett were 14th, 6 minutes 49.3 seconds back.

While Jane Cogan partnered Limerick’s Frank Sweeney to 17th, 9 minutes 0.7 second behind.


There was double success for Clare as Cathal Nolan, partnered by Galway’s Emel McNamara took the Junior section in their Honda Civic eg6 with a time of 53 minutes 10.8 seconds.

Conor Mullen was co-driver for Tipperary’s Greg O’Brien and they finished 4 minutes 43.9 seconds behind in second place.


And Banner brothers Jake and Aaron Lennon topped the Class 16A section in their Honda Civic with a time of 51 minutes 41.4 seconds.


Clare FM Live at the annual Dougie Hughes memorial Clare stages rally in association with M Fitzgibbon Contractors Ltd