David O’Brien Elected New Clare Ladies Football Chairperson

Cooraclare’s David O’Brien has been elected as the new Clare Ladies Football chairperson at last night’s AGM.

But it was an emotional evening in Treacy’s West County Hotel as tributes were paid to his predecessor.

Clare FM’s Darren Kelly reports


Munster President Jerome Casey opened proceedings with a minute’s silence after sharing his memories of outgoing chairperson Kieran Harvey who passed away last month.

The various end of year reports also remembered Kieran’s contribution before David O’Brien was elected as his successor.

Geraldine Kelly replaced Bernie Regan as Treasurer while Monica Callinan was returned as Secretary but the PRO position remains vacant.

A Burren Gaels motion seeking an enforcement of the rule that states players must compete for clubs in their areas generated most debate and the executive requested clubs supply their Catchment Area maps before the end of January.

It was also decided that no fixtures will be allowed clash with next year’s senior and intermediate county finals before O’Brien concluded the meeting.