Cork Pull Clear To Send Clare Out of Under 20 Hurling Championship

Munster under 20 Hurling Semi-Final – Wednesday, 10th July 2019

Cork 0-24 Clare 0-15

Clare’s Munster under 20 hurling championship came unstuck as Cork booked their place in the provincial final. 


Despite the Banner starting with Mark Rodgers and Aidan McCarthy points in the opening two minutes, the hosts eventually built a lead they never relinquished. 

Craig Hanafin, Sean Twomey and Shane O’Regan made it 0-4 to 0-2 before Diarmuid Ryan responded.  But Clare couldn’t get level despite Rian Considine and Aidan McCarthy converting. 

Cork led 0-12 to 0-8 at half-time and went five clear after the restart before the Banner’s best spell.  Rian Considine, Mark Rodgers and Aidan Moriarty reduced arrears to 0-14 to 0-12 on 40 minutes. 

But Cork regained control scoring five-in-a-row.  And despite Aidan McCarthy and Diarmuid Ryan replying for Clare, the goal they needed didn’t materialise and Cork advanced to face Tipperary. 

Scorers – Clare: Diarmuid Ryan 0-4, Aidan McCarthy 0-4, Rian Considine 0-2, Mark Rodgers 0-2, Killian McDermott 0-1, Aidan Moriarty 0-1.

Scorers – Cork: Tommy O’Connell 0-6, Shane O’Regan 0-5, Brian Turnbull 0-4, Craig Hanafin 0-4, Sean Twomey 0-3, Brian Roche 0-1, Daire Connery 0-1.

Clare: Eamonn Foudy; Keith White, Aron Moloney, Peter Casey; Darragh Lohan, Ross Hayes, Dylan McMahon; Aidan McCarthy, Killian McDermott; Aidan Moriarty, Diarmuid Ryan, Rian Considine; Mark Rodgers, Gary Cooney, Breffni Horner.