Clare Exit All-Ireland Minor Hurling Race Despite High Scoring Thriller

All-Ireland Minor Hurling Quarter-Final – Saturday, 20th July 2019

Galway 1-24 Clare 1-22

Clare’s All-Ireland minor hurling championship campaign ended in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise as Galway advanced to a semi-final against Wexford.


The Banner kept in touch before going ahead in a high scoring contest. But despite a late Cian Galvin goal levelling affairs, Sean O’Hanlon and Paddy Cummins gave the Tribesmen the nod.

They were level twice in the 10 minutes before Sean McDonagh and Alex Connaire doubled their personal tallies to make it 0-4 to 0-2 in Galway’s favour.

Shane Meehan was Clare’s chief scorer registering all their points as they trailed 0-5 to 0-4. After Oisin O’Donnell got his first, Meehan added another but they still trailed 0-10 to 0-6 on 19 minutes.

The Banner enjoyed their best spell as Cian Galvin, Oisin O’Donnell, Tony Butler and Shane Meehan brought it back to 0-11 to 0-10 before Sean McDonagh struck a Galway penalty to the net.

Another Shane Meehan score left it 1-11 to 0-11 at half-time but Galway’s major didn’t disrupt Clare’s fightback. Colm O’Meara, Meehan (2) and Diarmuid Cahill levelled at 0-15 to 1-12 on 35 minutes.

The sides traded before Liam Leen gave Galway the lead. But a brace apiece for Shane Meehan and Sean Ronan sent Clare three points ahead entering the final quarter.

Six was the magic number regarding the required winning margin but Galway upped the stakes. Brian Hanley’s team scored eight of the next 10 scores to lead 1-22 to 0-22 entering injury time.

Shane Meehan picked out Cian Galvin for the equalising goal but Clare needed two more to save their season. Sean O’Hanlon and Paddy Cummins ensured three-in-a-row chasing Galway advanced.

Scorers – Clare: Shane Meehan 0-13, Cian Galvin 1-1, Oisin O’Donnell 0-2, Sean Ronan 0-2, Tony Butler 0-1, Colm O’Meara 0-1, Diarmuid Cahill 0-1, Conner Hegarty 0-1.

Clare: Aaron Shanahan; Tony Butler, Adam Hogan, Storm Devanney; Jarlath Collins, Cian Galvin, Colm O’Meara; Conner Hegarty, Oisin Clune; Oisin O’Donnell, Diarmuid Cahill, Cormac Murphy; Shane Meehan, Dylan Downes, Cormac Murphy.


Clare FM’s live coverage came in association with Blossoms on the Go Garden Centre, Center point, Hermitage, Ennis.