Waterford End Clare’s Unbeaten Minor Football Run

Munster Minor Football Championship – Wednesday, 24th April 2019

Waterford 2-7 Clare 1-9

Clare suffered their first defeat in this year’s Munster Minor Football Championship yesterday evening after two late goals gave Waterford victory in Dungarvan.


It didn’t derail their championship ambitions but injuries and a major hold up led to a late night in the South East.

Clare FM’s Darren Kelly reports.

Clare’s final Phase 1 contest in the Munster Minor Football Championship won’t be remembered for this loss. Leading 1-7 to 0-4, Dermot Coughlan’s charges looked home and dry but were outscored 2-3 to 0-2 in the final 10 minutes.

DJ Melia got the two Waterford goals but three first half injuries and an hour delay were the talking points. Cillian McGroary went off earlier but a clash between teammates Tomas Meenahan and Matthew Reidy led to a significant delay.

Reidy lost three teeth and needed an ambulance leading to a one hour interval. Thomas Meenahan’s goal had given Clare a 1-3 to 0-3 lead. When they recommenced, Eoin Rouine, Jamie Stack and Shane Meehan put six between them.

But Waterford finished with a flourish and DJ Melia’s two strikes turned this tie in their favour. Clare’s two previous wins ensured their final spot against Tipperary. On May 7th, the knock out series begins.

Scorers – Clare: Shane Meehan 0-3, Thomas Meenahan 1-0, Tadgh Lillis 0-2, Eoin Rouine 0-1, Jamie Stack 0-1, Eoin Talty 0-1, Liam Murphy 0-1.

Clare: Thomas Collins; Fionn Kelliher, Michéal Garry, Ciaran McMahon; Eoin Walshe, Fergal Guinnane, Matthew Reidy; Eoin Rouine, Cillian McGroary; Stephen Casey, Shane Meehan, Keith Crowley; Eoin Talty, Liam Murphy, Tomas Meenahan.