Clare Minor Camogie Comfortable Winners Over Offaly

All-Ireland Minor Camogie Championship – Saturday, 9th March 2019
Clare 3-13 Offaly 0-9

Clare Minor Camogie made it two wins from two with a comprehensive win over Offaly on Saturday afternoon in Fr McNamara Camogie Park. A nip and tuck first half saw just a point separate the sides at half time, however the second half was dominated by the home side who ran out deserving winners.

A Michelle Mescall free down the wing saw Lynda Daly gather and split the posts with less than two minutes played.


From the puckout Clare won possession and sent the ball forward to Robyn Conway who bore down on the Offaly danger area, a goal mouth scramble followed with Offaly defending strongly and it was Chloe Neylon who got the last touch to send to the back of the net.

A brace of Offaly frees from Amy Byrne and Becky Bryant followed to get the visitors off the mark. Clare won their own puckout and again play moved forward, Conway was fouled in possession and Finia O’Brien converted the resulting free.
This time the puckout was won by Jane Cleary and she sent forward where Emma Mulrooney gathered and sent between the posts. Offaly had their purple patch over the next ten minutes, a Byrne free was neatly gathered by Bryant and the Tullamore youngster split the posts.

Bryant landed her next free in the square and in the scramble it was tipped out over the line which Bryant converted to level the sides. Clare responded well, Emily Cahill winning the puckout and feeding forward to her Kilmaley clubmate Neylon who edged the home side back in front with her point.

Cahill again won in midfield , this time playing forward to Lynda Daly who added another point for the Banner. Jane Lowry pointed for the visitors and the last few minutes saw the sides exchange converted frees, O’Brien for the home side and Bryant for the visitors to see the sides go in at the break with just a point separating the sides, Clare 1-5 Offaly 0-7.

If the first half was nip and tuck, the second half saw Clare dominate with the aid of a strong wind at their backs. Caoimhe Kelly opened the scoring with a converted free, the puckout returned to the square and was tipped out for a ’45 which Kelly also converted.

Lynda Daly and half time substitute Greta Hickey both added from play, followed by another ’45 from Kelly to make it double scores in favour of the home side Clare 1-11 Offaly 0-7.

Offaly had their forays into the Clare danger area, however a tenacious Roisin Minogue saw the Bodyke youngster thwart the visitors on each attempt as she, Mescall and Susan Daly led a determined Clare defence. Ellen Regan eventually broke through in the fiftieth minute to add a point for Offaly.

Clare responded by winning the Offaly puckout and then a free which Kelly duly converted. Aoibhin Ryan was next on the scoreboard for the Banner girls when she pointed from out on the wing. Both Ryan and Lynda Daly were instrumental in Clares next goal, with the strike to the net finished by Neylon.

Clare had rung the changes and with Lisa O’Neill and Siobhain Lenihan going in on the full forward line, the Newmaket and Kilkishen players made their mark. Lenihan gathered on the wing and sent to Conway who surrounded by the Offaly backs sent play cross field where O’Neill connected perfectly in mid air to crash the ball to the back of the Offaly net.

Play moved to the other end and though they won a free, Offaly also lost Kaitly Kennedy to a red card. Bryant converted the free for the final score of the game, leaving Clare comfortable winners, Clare 3-13 Offaly 0-9.

Clare: Rachel Daly Scariff Ogonnelloe; Sinead Ryan Truagh Clonlara, Roisin Minogue Bodyke, Michelle Mescall; Sinead McGee Clooney Quin, Susan Daly Scariff Ogonnelloe, Sarah ni Cheallaigh Kilmaley; Emily Cahill Kilmaley, Hannah Shannon Inagh Kilnamona; Chloe Neylon Kilmaley 2-1, Caoimhe Kelly Kilkishen 0-5 3F 2’45, Lynda Daly Scariff Ogonnelloe 0-3; Aoibhin Ryan Inagh Kilnamona 0-1, Robyn Conway Feakle, Finia O’Brien Sixmilebridge 0-2F

Subs: Gillian Ryan Tulla for Sinead Ryan, Greta Hickey Whitegate 0-1 for Shannon, Siobhain Lenihan Kilkishen 0-1 for O’Brien, Lisa O’Neill Newmarket on Fergus 1-0 for Aoibhin Ryan

Offaly: Maria Horan Lusmagh Drumcullen; Andrea Kernan Shinrone, Brooke Whelahan Birr, Laura Clancy St Rynaghs; Eilish Gleeson Shinrone, Amy Byrne Lusmagh Drumcullen 0-1F, Sharon Shanahan Shinrone; Jane Cleary Shinrone, Jane Lowry Kilcormac Killoughey 0-1; Kaitlyn Kennedy Lusmagh Drumcullen, Ellen Regan Birr 0-1, Becy Bryant Tullamore 0-5 3F 1’45; Orla Maher Shinrone, Emma Mulrooney Kilcormac Killoughrey 0-1, Michelle Carroll Kinnitty

Subs: Lauren Temple Lumagh Drumcullen for Maher, Emma Harding Killians for Carroll

Referee: Ray Kelly