New Electoral Boundaries Likely In Clare

Photo © Clare FM

Boundaries for Clare’s Municipal Districts look set to change again.

The Cabinet has agreed to set up two new comittees to examine local election constituencies, with the aim that areas will typically have between 5 and 7 Councillors.

An extensive re-drawing of boundaries before the last local elections of 2014 was roundly criticised, with many claiming that it made the West Clare and Killaloe Municipal Districts unwieldy.


The next local elections will be held in 2019.