Funding Announced For Clare Tidy Towns Groups Despite Cancellation Of Competition

44 Tidy Towns groups in Clare are to benefit from a 1.4 million euro fund, despite the competition being cancelled for this year.

The money was earmarked for groups across the country last year, by the Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring, but it’s now been confirmed that the money can still be used.

54,000 euro of the fund has been allocated for 44 groups across Clare and they can continue to use the money to assist in any activity planned for when restrictions are eased.


Chair of Ennis Tidy Towns, Cormac McCarthy says that in light of the current public health pandemic the funding is very much appreciated.

The following 44 Clare communities were allocated between €1,000 and €4,000 (based on population size) in order to support preparation for the 2020 competition;

Ballynacally Tidy Towns Commitee €1,000
Ballyvaughan Community Development Group €1,000
Barefield Tidy Village €1,000
Bodyke Tidy Towns €1,000
Boston Community Group €1,000
Bridgetown Tidy Towns Association €1,000
Bunratty Local Development Association €1,000
Carrigaholt Tidy Towns €1,000
Clarecastle Tidy Towns €2,000
Connolly Tidy Towns €1,000
Cooraclare Tidy Towns €1,000
Corofin Tidy Towns Committee €1,000
Cranny Tidy Towns €1,000
Cross Tidy Towns €1,000
Doonbeg Tidy Towns €1,000
Dungarvan & District DA €1,000
Ennis Tidy Towns Committee €4,000
Ennistymon Tidy Towns Group €1,000
Kildysart Tidy Towns Committee €1,000
Kilkishen Tidy Towns €1,000
Killimer Tidy Villages €1,000
Kilmihil Tidy Towns Association €1,000
Kilmurry Tidy Towns €1,000
Kilrush Tidy Towns Committee €2,000
Knock Tidy Villages Committee €1,000
Labasheeda Community Pride €1,000
Lisdoonvarna Community Council €1,000
Miltown Malbay Tidy Towns €1,000
Mountshannon Tidy Towns €1,000
Mullagh Tidy village Committee €1,000
Newmarket on Fergus Tidy Towns €2,000
O’ Brien’s Bridge Development Association €1,000
Quin Tidy Towns €2,000
Ruan Tidy Towns €1,000
Scariff Community Council €1,000
Shannon Tidy Towns €3,000
Sixmilebridge Community Development €2,000
Spanish Point Community €1,000
Tuamgraney Development Association €1,000
Tulla Tidy Towns Committee €1,000
Whitegate Community Council €1,000
Broadford Tidy Towns €1,000
Clooney Spancilhill CDG €1,000
Cree Community Spirit €1,000