Clare FG Members To Vote On Next Leader

Photo © Clare FM

Clare Fine Gael members will cast their ballots tonight in the Fine Gael leadership election.

700 members, including eight County Councillors, are entitled to vote and will have the opportunity to do so at the Auburn Lodge Hotel from 6pm tonight.

Clare’s three Oireachtas members will cast their votes tomorrow, ahead of the announcement of the result tomorrow evening.


While Leo Varadkar is leading the race nationally, most local representatives here are backing Simon Coveney – among them Whitegate Councillor Pat Burke, who has been speaking to Clare FM’s Gavin Grace:

And you can hear from Leo Varadkar and Coveney when both leadership contenders appear on today’s edition of Clare FM’s Morning Focus from 9am.