Two-Tier System Introduced For 2020 All-Ireland Football Championship

Photo (c) BBC twitter

GAA Special Congress has voted to introduce a two-tier structure to the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 2020.

The proposal was passed in Páirc Uí Chaoimh with a 75.5% majority.

It means National League Division 3 and 4 teams that don’t reach their respective provincial finals next spring will not be eligible to compete in the All-Ireland qualifiers and instead, will contest the ‘B’ championship instead.


A Tipperary motion was also passed meaning the qualification process will be determined by the finishing positions in the 202 league – meaning the promoted Division Three sides will overtake the relegated second tier sides.

As things stand, Clare would finish in the bottom two in Division Two, they will need to reach the Munster Final to compete in the qualifiers.


In other news, three rules changed were also passed.

The Advanced Mark is through, a 10-minute sin bin has been introduced, and kick-outs must pass the 20 metre line.