New Cathaoirleach For Clare County Council

Independent Councillor Michael Begley has been unanimously elected Mayor of Clare at today’s Annual General Meeting of Clare County Council.

The Clonlara native was first elected to Clare County Council in 1991 and succeeds Fianna Fáil Councillor Tom McNamara from Kilmaley in the role.

Mayor Begley was proposed for the role by Councillor Gerry Flynn and seconded by Councillors PJ Ryan, Tony O’Brien and Joe Cooney.


Councillor Alan O’Callaghan from Kilmurry was elected Leas Cathaoirleach and replaces Councillor Pat Burke from Whitegate in the role.

Clare FM’s Gavin Grace reports