Clare FM Preview Of The 2018 Clare SFC & Clare IFC

Photo © Clare FM

The 2018 Clare Senior and Intermediate Football Championships get underway this afternoon.

It’s a huge year ahead with 5 teams being relegated from the top tier while Kilmurry Ibrickane are bidding to win Jack Daly for the third consecutive year.

The action gets underway in Gurteen at 2pm as Garry Cup champions Eire Óg take on Lissycasey.


Eire Óg manager is Paul Madden

Lissycasey are led by Corofin native Michael Neylon

The action then moves to Cooraclare where Ennistymon will go up against O’Curry’s with that one underway from 4pm.

There’s a double header in Cusack Park with Kilmihil native Colm Collins leading his Cratloe side against the club he won a championship with in the early 80’s.

Kilmihil are back in the senior ranks after an impressive victory over Kilrush in last years Intermediate decider.

Naomh Eoin stalwart Mick Liddane is the man in charge this season.

That one starts at 4.30pm.

After that. last years beaten finalists Clondegad will look to get their campaign off to a positive start when they take on St Josephs Doora Barefield.

Manager Mikey Hehir has been looking ahead to this one.

There’s a 6pm start for that one.

At the same time in Ennistymon, champions Kilmurry Ibrickane will get their 2018 campaign underway against Kilfenora.

KIB selector is Kieran Madigan

The man in charge of Kilfenora is Patrick O’Neill

The action on Sunday sees two games in Miltown and one in Cusack Park.

The double header in the west of the county sees Doonbeg go up against Corofin from 12pm while at 1.30pm Cooraclare take on St Breckan’s.

2015 champions St Josephs Miltown take on Wolfe Tones in the opening round in Cusack Park from 1pm.

Clare FM’s Derrick Lynch was joined by Clare FM analyst Joe Garry and former Clare football selector David O’Brien to look ahead to all the action.

A full list of all this weekends fixtures are outlined below

2018 Clare SFC Opening Round Fixtures


Gurteen: Eire Óg v Lissycasey @ 2pm

Cooraclare: Ennistymon v O’Curry’s @ 4pm

Cusack Park: Cratloe v Kilmihil @ 4.30pm

Cusack Park: Clondegad v St Josephs Doora Barefield @ 6pm

Ennistymon: KIB v Kilfenora @ 6pm


Miltown: Doonbeg v Corofin @ 12pm

Cusack Park: Miltown v Wolfe Tones @ 1pm

Miltown: Cooraclare v St Breckan’s @ 1.30pm


2018 Clare IFC Opening Round Fixtures


Quilty: Liscannon v St Senan’s Kilkee @ 4pm

Lissycasey: Shannon Gaels v Clarecastle @ 6pm

Kilkee: Naomh Eoin v Coolmeen @ 6pm

Kilmihil: Kildysart v Kilrush @ 6pm